Tales from the days of our lives

Durban holiday in Winter – Day One


Having just returned from my first “solo” holiday in 24 years feeling rather refreshed, I decided to post some pics of the rather dry Kloof area close to Durban in Kwazulu-Natal.  The last time I was in this province was 1988 for my post- matric/ pre-“rainbow nation” vacation, which I had saved up for working on week-ends and during holidays throughout the year.  On arrival at the “new” International King Shaka airport (build for the Soccer World Cup in 2010) it was straight to the car hire co. where I was introduced to my soon to become best friend “TOM-TOM” the GPS, who took me seamlessly to my destination a bed and breakfast called “Kloof Falls Lodge” in Kloof, where I was greeted by the ever-efficient and friendly manager Iselle.  A very eco-conscious establishment where I was shown how by replacing normal light bulbs with LED bulbs that one could save significant power wattage, yet still get more than enough light!!    After the grand tour I took a lovely shower, had a power nap and then went to meet my dear friend Nikki and her family who live 2 minutes from the B&B for a delicious dinner of beef lasagne, salad and french bread.     We chatted after dinner and made plans for the coming days, then bid good night.  I headed back to the B&B, where I enjoyed an excellent night’s rest on percale linen and pillows that suited my comfort….more on this in my next post….enjoy the photos and the view

3 responses

  1. Mands

    oh wow, we live a few minutes down the road… and it’s actually amazing how green it’s got in a week after all the rain. *Smile* Still warm and dry enough that we are watering the veggie garden this week. Thanks for sharing, Mands

    August 14, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    • Wow! Mands if only I had known we could have had a mini-MOB (meeting of bloggers) will be coming to Durbs in September for a quick visit, would love to meet you…will send you a message closer to the time 😉

      August 16, 2012 at 9:53 am

  2. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your
    stuff previous to and you’re just too excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a great website.

    August 14, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Leave a comment